Best Docs Awards

GIKK Ortho Specialists is pleased to recognize our physicians who have received awards and recognition from our peers and patients for the work we have done.

Below is a list of our physicians that have received Best Doctors in America® recognition and the years of recognition:

  • Dr. R. Michel Gross — 2003 through 2014
  • Dr. Timothy Fitzgibbons — 1996 through 2016
  • Dr. Jack McCarthy – 2011 through 2016
  • Dr. T. Kevin O’Malley — 2011 through 2012
  • Dr. Jeffrey Tiedeman — 2011 through 2016
  • Dr. Scott McMullen — 2005 through 2016
  • Dr. Erik Otterberg — 2011 through 2012, 2015-2016
  • Dr. David Inda — 2011 through 2014
  • Dr. Samuel Phillips – 2013 through 2016

Compiled by Boston-based Best Doctors, Inc., the Best Doctors in America® database is the result of an exhaustive survey of more than 53,000 medical experts in the United States. Only those doctors recognized to be in the top 5% of their specialty earn the honor of being named one of the Best Doctors in America®.

For over 20 years, Best Doctors has earned worldwide acclaim for its remarkable database of physicians. The Best Doctors database is the world’s premier effort to create a validated, peer-reviewed database of excellence in medicine. The Best Doctors methodology is rigorously impartial and strictly independent. Doctors cannot pay to be included in the database and are not paid to complete the survey. The only way to be recognized as one of the Best Doctors in America® is for a doctor to earn high marks for clinical ability from his or her peers.  To learn more, please visit

Patients’ Choice Award

The Patients’ Choice Award originates on the website Consumers and patients are welcome to rate their doctors profile based on their opinion and experience with that doctor.

By receiving a Patients’ Choice Award, that means a doctor is currently in the top percentile of physicians that have been rated by consumers on for the year. This award is based solely on independent patient/consumer ratings, with a minimum requirement of 2 ratings totaling an average of 3.8 out of 4 stars.

GIKK Ortho Specialists’ physicians that have received the Patient’s Choice Award include:

  • Dr. Erik Ottberg (2010 Award) and Compassionate Care Award (2014)
  • Dr. Timothy Fitzgibbons (2008, 2009, and 2012 Awards)